Thank You

Recently, I’ve had the opportunity to get in contact with some of the more prominent Slender Man creators/contributors/bloggers/vloggers.  And it’s a flooring experience.  The fact that anyone would even consider me notable enough to invite to an experience like that is one thing, but being able to see all these people that I have so much respect for, and then hearing that they read my blog, and actually consider my suggestions?  You have no idea how much it means to me to hear you all say that.

I started off as a stupid noob who knew nothing about the mythos but thought that I knew enough to start blogging about it.  When I started, my experience was pretty much limited to The Big Four: MH, EMH, TT, and JAF.  I hadn’t even read Seeking Truth or Dreams in Darkness.  Essentially, I thought I knew so much when I really knew so little.  And I’m still not a complete expert on the mythos.  I only know half of what’s going on with some of these other blogs.  Anomalous Data and Testing 1, 2, 3 have been on my “to read” list for so long.  There are a ton of blogs that I just don’t have time to go through (which is a large part of why I’m going to include summaries on my blog, and why the folks at the Slender Nation are going to start on audioblogs).  So I still don’t know everything.

And yet, I’m hearing people—people who I more or less consider to be internet celebrities—talk about my blog.  Say that they’ve read it.  Say that they take my advice.  I’m…I’m just floored.  I’m stunned.  I assumed that I just had a small core of readers.  It means a lot to know that I’m more widely read than I thought.

As you know, I’m planning on expanding the site soon.  I’ve got two other contributors, and I’m looking at picking up one or two more.  I have plans to get my own website for this (someone has generously offered to host me for free), and all that needs to happen is for the plans to be set in motion.  And it’s all of you guys who have made this possible.  You, the people who read me.  Anyone who thinks of me as some great expert or some high and mighty blogger shouldn’t.  I’m just a guy who jumped on the chance to be part of an urban legend.  You guys are the people who brought me to where I am now.

Thank you.  Thank you all so much.

Andy

About Li'l Andy K

Hey, everyone. I'm a sophomore at [University name removed for my own privacy] who's taken a liking to the Slender Man myth. I have taken a strong liking to the Slender Man myth. The Slender Man myth has taken a strong liking to me.
This entry was posted in Blog Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank You

  1. Smoking says:

    Remember that the guys that started it all didn’t knew either that this thing would grow so big. You have made a spot for yourself in true Slender Mythos fashion.

  2. Daniel says:

    [lurkerpost]

    =D Congratulations, Andy!

    [/lurkerpost]

  3. Paraskeptic says:

    Well, you have put a lot of effort into this. The Slenderman mythos is a huge and sprawling thing, and keeping track of all that must be a chore sometimes. I’d be pissed if the blog didn’t get recognition for that.

    You need to entice more readers into the comments though, get some more discussions going down here.

  4. Red says:

    Lemme say, I kinda know a little how you feel. Today I found out that the author of one of my favourite blogs (possibly my -absolute- favourite) saw a picture I drew of his character and really liked it and said I’d done a great job. Once I’d gotten over my initial horror, I felt so dang proud. I still feel awesome about it.

    So yeah, I guess what I’m saying is, congratulations Andy!

    – Red

  5. Alice says:

    Aw, Andy, that’s amazing!

    But a lot of credit should go to you. You’ve worked terrifically hard on this little blog and been good with updating or finding other people to update. You’ve got big plans for the future, too, all of which we readers mostly certainly appreciate. I’d say something like “you go, girl”, if you know, it weren’t offensive and insulting to your masculinity.

    As it were, wonderful job.

  6. DragonSovereign says:

    Congratulations Andy! I think we can all agree that you deserve it, considering everything you’ve put into this blog.

    May your dreams be full of faceless men.

Leave a Reply

