So what’s real?

It’s just a game.  We all know that.  A fun, elaborate game.  Of course, since we all have to interact with each other, it’s highly improvised.  Sometimes, it’s not even entirely a game.  Anyway, I know things are getting fairly complex on my blog, and I’m sure a lot of you are wondering just how much of this is made up.  I’m going to just come out and admit what all is real, and what’s faked.

I’m going to say first of all that pretty much everything going on that’s not me giving information falls into one of three categories: true, highly exaggerated, or flat-out lie.  Let’s start with my original plans.  I’ve been pretty adamant from the beginning of my blog that the Slender Man is not real.  That was forshadowing.  My original intentions were to make it an informative blog, and then eventually move to the point where I go crazy.  The plan was to make it look like I was just going insane, and that the Slender Man wasn’t involved, but then finish with a vlog where the Slender Man actually does appear in the background right before I submit it.  Those were my original plans.  Now, for what was real.

My roommate really did get a bad cough, and I did catch it from him.  That’s something that just happens, though.  Especially in fall/winter where I live.  In “Slendervlog 3,” the entire conversation I have with my roommate?  He didn’t know about that, so everything he says is genuine.  I was acting, to an extent.  Then again, I was also acting in character, too, so I suppose the entire conversation was real.  The cough I have in the video?  That was real.  While it wasn’t stifled, it wasn’t forced either.  The distortion at the end of the video?  That’s just because of my webcam/microphone’s crappy quality.  The comments about my dog freaking out are also true, although it’s almost certain that he was just feeling territorial or something upset him.

The fear and paranoia were highly exaggerated.  When I went “insane” there for a bit?  I didn’t really go insane.  While I probably was a bit on edge, it took a backseat to day-to-day life.  I was really paranoid for a while after seeing Marble Hornets, and I literally could not sleep the night after reading Just Another Fool.  My friends commented on how I seemed breathless when I opened the door for them (they had knocked on it while I was reading Dreams in Darkness with the lights off).  But when I started going off the deep end and ranting?  Things weren’t that bad at all.  They were a deliberate manufacturing of insanity.  The all-caps post where I’m laughing?  Pretty much all faked, but I really hope it freaked out a few people.  I personally thought that a post full of genuinely funny things undermined by an obvious insanity/desperation would be chilling.

And now for the flat-out lies.  That cameraphone video?  The one where I thought I saw Slendy staring in my third-floor window?  All lies.  I never saw him or even thought I saw him.  And the flash drive?  Originally planned to be a flat-out lie.  It ended up as a cross between that and an embellishment.  seeker never found out my address, but he found out my e-mail.  Which doesn’t surprise me at all, really, since it’s not that hard to find.  I was a bit freaked out, but I thought “eh, I can use this” and incorporated it into my original plan (reeeeeeeeally dumb move, I know).  Of course, I’m regretting the fact that I did, because it comes across as a TribeTwelve ripoff.  For the record, I thought that up before his video.  He just got to use it first, which means that I’m ripping him off by going ahead with it.  Anyway, I might post some videos with my original plans yet, just for fun.

Speaking of seeker, I’m sure you’re all wondering why I haven’t mentioned how much of that is real.  I wanted to save it for now because the situation is a bit…different.  I don’t know how much of it is real myself.  I know you’re all thinking that either seeker or SeekerX is an alt of mine.  Neither one is.  Here’s what’s going on here:

I got that email from seeker with the video, and originally thought he was a gamejacker.  However, he was still a gamejacker who knew how to edit videos, a skill that I (obviously, if you’ve seen my videos) lack.  I decided to run with it.  However, all these coincidences started popping up, all somehow pointing to Broeckchen.  Broeckchen’s the only one who could have planned that, but I’ve been talking to her for a while, and I trust that she isn’t lying and that she would have told me if she was seeker.

SeekerX is also tricky.  I’m sure you think that I know all his riddles and whatnot.  I don’t.  I really don’t.  He’s not my alt.  If you’re going by IPs, Broeckchen, seeker, SeekerX, and I are all completely different people.  I know it’s possible to get around that, but that’s some major dedication and a ton of overthinking.  While I don’t think that seeker and SeekerX are the same person, I think that, in light of recent events, they might be working together.  Either that, or SeekerX has actually hacked seeker’s blog and added himself to it.  That would explain a lot, actually…like how SeekerX got J’s email.  I don’t know if Blogspot does this, but on WordPress, I’ve got the e-mails of everyone who posts on my blog.  I know that J posted on seeker’s.  If they’re working together (or if SeekerX has 1337 h4x0r sk177z), that’d explain how SeekerX knows it.

So that’s the story behind what was happening and what is happening.  Hope this clears a few things up.  Go ahead and ask if you’ve got further questions.  I’ll answer the best that I can.

Anyway, I’m sure some of you want to know how my Solstice went.  It was nothing special, really.  I would have loved to stay up and watch the eclipse (1:30 AM my time), but it was too foggy/cloudy to see the moon anyway.  And before you go all “o noes!!  fog!1!  teh creepiez!” just let me point out that it was due to melting snow.  It was a bit of a bummer, though.

Anyway, only one thing that was kind of strange happened.  You guys remember that token I made, right?  Well, even though I still think of this all as a game, I still wear it constantly, as a kind of placebo, or possibly even a tulpa.  The only times I take it off are sometimes when I’m running, and when I’m sleeping.  Anyway, last night, I woke up at one point in complete darkness.  I couldn’t see anything, and I was probably half-asleep at the time, but I felt this sort of fear.  It didn’t feel like someone was in my room, but more like someone was watching me or someone was near.  One guess as to who my mind jumped to.  Anyway, for some reason, I reached for my token, but it was like I was paralyzed.  Have you ever had your hands fall asleep so badly to the point where they feel like they’re not a part of your body, and you have no control over them?  There have been times where I’ve tried to turn of my alarm at college, but couldn’t, because I couldn’t grasp onto the ladder to climb down from my bunk.  Well, it was kind of like that, only all over my whole body.  Just this paralyzingly cold tingling feeling.  I’ve never had that happen before.  Anyway, I managed to reach out to the token, and I could feel it at my fingertips, but I couldn’t pick it up.  The fear just kept growing stronger and stronger.  And then, somehow, I managed to grab it and pull it towards me.  Not immediately, but very shortly after, the paralyzing tingling started subsiding, and I was filled with enough relief to allow me to fall asleep again almost immediately.  Kinda weird, huh?  Broeckchen and I talked, and we’ve decided that there’s probably nothing supernatural about it, but it still makes a nice story.

Well, there’s a new Marble Hornets coming soon, so like usual, I’ll provide an analysis. That’s what the next blog post will be.

Andy

About Li'l Andy K

Hey, everyone. I'm a sophomore at [University name removed for my own privacy] who's taken a liking to the Slender Man myth. I have taken a strong liking to the Slender Man myth. The Slender Man myth has taken a strong liking to me.
This entry was posted in Blog Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So what’s real?

  1. Bard says:

    Bravo.

    Really, though. This whole thing was brilliantly done. Even in the bits that weren’t yours, you did a good job of running with it. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it, and I only found it a few days ago (yes, through the tvtropes link to the Santa thing). I hadn’t commented because I haven’t really had anything to say, but I’ve enjoyed the ride all the same. Even the flaws in it (lack of video editing and such) added to the believability. Same with the involvement of the gamejackers.

    I also like your original premise: the idea that an idea, even if it doesn’t in and of itself physically exist, can have an effect on the real world. The Mythos is definitely that kind of idea, the kind that takes root in your head and won’t let go. It kind of reminds me of how some people were, after the Dark Knight came out, claiming that the Joker killed Heath Ledger. I’ve always liked that kind of thing, and it’s definitely plausible here, slender-tulpa or no. You’ve done a great job of highlighting it.

    So, questions:
    1. Are you still going to be trying to figure out the stuff with seeker/SeekerX? It seems that they’re both still at it, and I doubt they’re going to stop just because you’ve laid your cards on the table.
    2. How long has Broeckchen been in on this?

    • Li'l Andy K says:

      I can’t quite tell for certain, but I’m pretty sure that’s actual praise and not sarcasm. Erm…thanks.

      Okay, for your questions:
      1. Since seeker/SeekerX have pretty much been lumped as “part of my canon” now, since all this started on my blog (it’s since spread to J’s, as you may have noticed, and seeker’s made a few comments on other blogs), I suppose it’s my duty to at least figure it out some. If they’re gamejackers working together, I guess I’ll go along with it. The whole level of coincidence, though (particularly with the whole Struwwelpeter thing) is a bit unnerving, so I really hope that they are, in fact, gamejackers and not people taking this too seriously.
      2. Depends on what you mean by “in on this.” You came her from TV Tropes, you said. The comment you were referred to (the Santa Theory) was the first post she made on my blog. How long have we been in contact? Erm…I’m not even sure. Over a week, by this point. Probably around two. I told her everything I told you guys a few days after I got in contact with her, and by this point, she probably actually knows more than I do.

      Andy

      • Bard says:

        Heh, it’s real praise. I just kind of suck at interacting with people via internet. I’m mainly a lurker, so I don’t really have much practice…

        And yeah, I also hope they’re gamejackers. It’s obvious that they know each other, it’s just a matter of whether they’re really buddies (or even the same person) somewhere working together to screw with you, or taking the game too far. Unfortunately, there’s no real way to tell. I hope it ends well, though.

  2. Broeckchen says:

    Almost a sad thing that you didn’t manage to do your whole plan. I didn’t know all of it yet, but now I just realised that it would have been a pretty original and entertaining plot.
    Well, until now. I’m very relieved that seeker didn’t find out your real address, though. Him contacting you via email is far less creepy.

  3. Camool says:

    That sounds like sleep paralisis to me. It has happened to me twice before and I was so terrrfied I had to go sleep in the next room with my mum. My doctor didn’t know what it was when I tried to describe it to her luckily wikipedia comes in handy.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis

Leave a Reply

