seeker/Struwwelpeter

So this whole “seeker” thing is kind of weirding me out.  Evidently, I now have a seeker, a Seeker, and a SeekerX trolling me.  Except it’s really only the first two since Seeker and SeekerX have the same IP.  Let’s just call them seeker and SeekerX respectively, since that makes them easier to tell apart.

Anyway, after running through the IPs in the comments, nobody who’s commented has the same IP as either of these two.  I’m assuming that seeker is trolling me, and SeekerX is imitating seeker.  Kinda funny, actually.  A gamejacker is gamejacking a gamejacker.

Aaaaaaanyway, my guess?  seeker is trying to start up a blog (found here, have fun) and decides that the best way to promote it is to find out my address and/or college (not that hard; my full name isn’t hard to find…hell, I even mention it later in this post), imitate TribeTwelve by sending me a flash drive and creepy-ass video, and become my totheark wannabe.  I’m flattered, seeker.  I’ve plugged you.  Now be a good boy and leave me alone.

I really don’t know how he got an envelope into my mailbox.  The flash drive was in an envelope that was only marked with my name.  This means that he had to actually come down to my campus and drop it off at the mailroom.  Because I know he doesn’t know my combination.  Hell, even my roommate and I don’t know our combination because of some sort of screw-up with the box.  But anyway, on his blog, he’s got a nifty little picture of himself (or someone) with his hood and the angle partially obscuring his face, and a drawing of the operator symbol reading “NOHELPFROMTHESIGN.”  In all honesty, I don’t know that guy, or at the very least, don’t recognize him.  He’s not my roommate (the hair’s way too short), and he’s not me.  So if I don’t know him, I wonder how exactly he knows me and has access to my box.  Wanna elaborate, seeker?  Maybe say something cryptic?  Yeah, give us some more poetry and cryptic phrases.  That’d be cute.

And now for some related matters.  Have you guys seen that “youdoknow” video I posted?  Yeah, there’s a picture in it that looked to me like the Slender Man in drag.  Well, it turns out that that’s “Struwwelpeter.”  You guys know Broeckchen, right?  The commenter with the awesome theories?  In fact, I’m pretty sure that some of you were introduced to the site by his awesome Santa theory.  Anyway, he’s German (I believe, correct me if I’m wrong—after all, I did originally think that Maduin was a girl) [EDIT: *uncomfortable cough.*  Well, evidently I was right about Broeckchen being German.  But Broeckchen is, in fact, female.  Whoops].  Now, I’m of German descent as well (as you may have guessed, with a surname name like Koerner), but my Dad doesn’t know the language (except for the curses—you learn those quickly growing up on a farm).  Broeckchen, however, probably actually lives/lived in Germany.  As a result, he recognized Struwwelpeter.  Evidently, “Der Struwwelpeter” is a German children’s book that serves as a cautionary tale.  In that image, the untidy Struwwelpeter (Slovenly Peter or Shaggy Peter, as is best translated…thanks, Wikipedia!) looks a bit like the Slender Man.  Looking over the Wikipedia article, though, there seems to be just a few links to the Slender Man mythos.  Keep in mind that most of these are stretches and just my thoughts.

The book is full of gruesome stories that teach kids to behave.  Hmm…sounds sort of familiar.  Is it just me, or did anyone else’s relative (usually a teasing uncle) tell them not to do something, or the Boogeyman/Big Bad Wolf/Whatever would get you?  These are myths used to scare children into misbehaving.  If the Slender Man is, as White Elephants suggested before it’s untimely end, our “Construct” (AKA scary creature of myth and legend), wouldn’t it make sense that the Slender Man will eventually work the same way?

Okay, now the stories.  First, Struwwelpeter himself.  It was mostly his untrimmed nails branching out into what looked almost like tentacles that’s the link.  The story (an untidy boy who is scorned because of his poor hygiene) doesn’t really sound like Slendy, though.  After all, he’s clean-shaven (even managed to get those pesky facial features), and wears a very clean-cut business suit.

Next possible link—“Cruel Frederick,” a boy who terrorizes animals and people.  I haven’t read the book, and that Amazon preview of the English version cut off about halfway through the story, but torment of animals and people sounds fairly familiar.  Who else torments animals and people, often gruesomely?

Next story is evidently about a girl named Pauline who plays with fire and gets burned by it.  This could reference both the Tulpa Effect (we played with metaphorical fire, and now it’s metaphorically burning us) or Slendy’s possible pyrokinesis.

The next big possible link is a hare that steals a hunter’s rifle and hunts the hunter.  This reminds me a bit of HABIT for some reason.  It could also be symbolizing that we’re now trying to hunt the hunter with all this Core Theory stuff.

The rest of the stories have little or no connection—a restless boy spills food, a boy starves because he refuses to eat his soup, the wind catches a boy’s umbrella and he gets blown off to places unknown (what that’s supposed to warn against, I have no clue), a vain kid refuses to look where he’s going and falls into a river (losing his, um…portfolio in the process…?), a thumb-sucker gets his thumb cut off by a tailor, and some racist boys are dipped in ink.  I couldn’t draw too much from that.  The only possible connections there are the boy who falls into the river (Slendy’s been said to have a connection with water) and the racist boys dipped in ink (I dunno, something just seems like it might be important there).

So that’s all I’ve got.  Broeckchen, if you’re reading this, this would be the perfect time for your theories.  You obviously know the stories better than I do (I assume…I mean, you recognized the Struwwelpeter, something I’ve never heard of), so if there are any links, please speak up.

Andy

Edit: Oh, evidently, a new “Seeker” decided to join the fun.  This one’s “Seeker ABCDEFG.”  And it’s someone who’s commented on my blog before.  Let’s just say someone a bit more lucid.  I won’t reveal who exactly they are, because I don’t want to spoil their fun ;).

About Li'l Andy K

Hey, everyone. I'm a sophomore at [University name removed for my own privacy] who's taken a liking to the Slender Man myth. I have taken a strong liking to the Slender Man myth. The Slender Man myth has taken a strong liking to me.
This entry was posted in Blog Updates, The Slender Man, Theory and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to seeker/Struwwelpeter

  1. seeker says:

    find her, ANDREW. the key is there.

  2. SeekerX says:

    speculation/fire/hearts/fear

  3. Broeckchen says:

    😄
    I’m sorry, it’s just… I can’t blame you for that, I often happen to make that mistake myself. But I’m a girl. :3 I’m so sorry for doing that to you again. *snickers*

    Yes, I know the book really well. Most German children of my generation still experienced it as a book commonly read to them when they were little.
    You can find an English translation of the book here. Complete with pictures, which might provide helpful details to you.

    Something especially interesting for me: You know who the person is that dips the racist boys into ink?
    St. Nicholas.
    Yeah. It’s that guy. The official “ancestor” of Santa Clause. ;3

    I had an eventful weekend, thus I’m not quite in the shape to reread the book and think of new theories. But if you need some information or a second opinion on something, feel free to email and ask me. ^^

    • Li'l Andy K says:

      …Holy crap. That just blew my mind. What are the chances that the person who comes up with the Santa theory is the one to recognize Struwwelpeter and make this St. Nicholas connection? Anyway, thanks for that link. I’ll check it out and see what I can get from it. Anyway, feel free to drop me an e-mail anytime you want. It’s on the contact page.

      And I am SO sorry for mistaking your gender. That’s You, Omega, and Maduin now. At least I caught the fact that Omega was a guy before I embarrassed myself. Seriously, what is with me? I’ve got my own unfortunate Running Gag going on here.

      Andy

  4. Lon Sarver says:

    Please tell me your middle name doesn’t begin with “R.”

  5. MyStery120 says:

    Bastard, he‘s got my Email!

Leave a Reply

